The Heyerdahl Award 2014 – who´s the worthy winner this year….?!

In just over a month, the bi-annual Thor Heyerdahl International Environmental Award will be handed out by the King of Norway at the Norwegian Shipowners´ Association, during their annual conference in Oslo. With a lot of good candidates, it will be exciting to see who is considered the worthiest candidate…

As one of the members of the expert committee, and more than average interested in environmental issues, I am thrilled to see so many companies and individuals going the extra mile to save the marine environment. And it will be really exciting to see which candidate ends up receiving this great award!

The Thor Heyerdahl International Maritime Environmental Award was launched in 1999 by Thor Heyerdahl (1914 – 2002) and the Norwegian Shipowners’ Association. The prize recognizes candidates from the shipping industry that have made an outstanding contribution for the environment. Eligible candidates are legal entities, organisations and individuals worldwide. Last winner (2012) was Eidesvik, while other winners are NYK Line, Wallenius Wilhelmsen, Farstad Shipping, The International Tanker Owners Pollution Federation Limited and the Green Award Foundation.
The other (and more prominent…!) members of this year´s jury is Claes Lind (EVP Group Marketing Skuld), Katharina Stantzel (Secretary general of INTERTANKO), Patrik Verhoeven (MD of ECSA), Peter Hinchliffe (Secretary General, International Chamber of Shipping), Svein Buvik (Sr. VP of Gard), Sveinung Oftedal (Senior advisor, Norwegian Ministry of Environmental Issues), Tor E. Svensen (President, DNV) and Hanna Lee Behrens (Director of innovation, environment & technology, Norwegian Shipowners Association)

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: